ISO 45001 certification

ISO 45001 is the new international standard for occupational health and safety (OH&S) management and will replace the existing OHSAS 18001 standard.

45001 Timeline

What’s new with ISO 45001?

  • Annex SL structure. As with all new and revised ISO standards, ISO 45001 will follow the same common terminology and structure of Annex SL. This is the single major difference between OHSAS 18001 and ISO 45001.
  • Align national OH&S standards. The overall aim of ISO 45001 is the same as OHSAS 18001. It is being produced to align the range of national health and safety management system standards into one standard with the intention of ruling-out confusion and market fragmentation.

What’s being revised?

  • Context of Organization. With ISO 45001 using Annex SL, there becomes a much stronger focus on the context of an organisation. Based on CD2, organisations should not only consider what health and safety issues directly impact on them, but also take into account the wider society and how their work may impact on the surrounding communities.
  • Top management. With ISO 45001, the role of health and safety will not become the sole responsibility of the Health and Safety Manager. Additionally, CD2 expects OH&S aspects to be integrated into the structure of an organisation, ensuring buy-in from top management and greater employee contribution.

How LRQA can help?

The ISO 45001 CD2 is estimated to progress to DIS stage in October 2015. LRQA recommends keeping up-to-date with its progress, so by joining LRQA's Mailing List, we can send you regular updates on any new developments or changes to the publication.

LRQA's System and Governance Manager, Steve Williams, is a member of the Project Committee (ISO/PC 283), so we're ideally placed to keep you informed of any recent developments in the publication of the standard.

Watch this space!  As soon as ISO 45001 moves to DIS stage, LRQA will be lauching a range of workshop sessions to help with your understanding of the new standard.